The Dining Room Game

I have a coupon for paint, so I’m thinking about painting. This might be a little premature, with holes still in the walls, but it doesn’t hurt to dream, right?

For some reason, I find it easier to contemplate painting my dining room than any other room in the house, so that’s where I’ll start. We plan to maintain as much of the original Victorian flavor as possible, as we fix the place up, so I’ve been looking at historical colors. If there’s one realm where the Victorians went wild, it was in color. I brought some swatches to my mother last night, and she was horrified. Her modern, neutral tastes did not mix well with the fuchsias and forest greens.

And I confess – I was trained by my mother in the school of safe neutrals, so all this color business does make me a little nervous. But the more I think about it, the more I’m deciding that painting is a lot like getting a hair cut. If you don’t like what you wind up with, it can always be changed.

So here, for your viewing pleasure (and courtesy of my mad photoshopping skillz) are some color options for our dining room. Please let me know what you think. I need all the input and moral support I can get.

First: this is the unaltered photo I’ve been using as a basis. It was taken while the house was a bed and breakfast. The furniture in the picture is not mine, although I do envy the plants. I’ll probably have plants a lot like these before all is said and done, and I suspect my furniture will be at least as classy as what you see (as opposed to the dorm-room style stuff we have now).

Now, here’s what happens when you paint the walls the color they are currently. Of course, I don’t know enough about photoshop to show you the obnoxious sponge painting. Imagine that you can see vast swathes of white through the khaki color.

And now, I proudly present – the potential colors!

So let me know what you think. Also, you should go check out Dustin’s House Blog. It’s way more au courrant than mine on all things house. 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Dining Room Game

  1. I like the first, the purple and the last ones. The purple is my favorite, it just seems relaxing.

  2. Neutral Mom likes the green room. It feel like a conservatory with the green plants. You could still put flowers or any color candles on your table or a side board and it won’t fight the walls. When you’re ready for some new plants just let me know!

Leave a Reply

