Giant Baby Pumpkin Comes Home

Baby Giant Pumpkin

It’s here, it’s here! My giant pumpkin has arrived!

Isn’t it cute and inconspicuous? Well… that is a gallon ice cream bucket it’s in. I suppose “inconspicuous” is relative.

After a whole week of back-and-forth with Giant Pumkin Guru Matt, I finally managed to arrange a seedling hand-off this evening. The reply to the question “what does one do with a 300+ pound pumpkin?” : feed it to the deer, or possibly to bears. Of course. The whole week of back-and-forth was largely due to trying to answer this question. Turns out giant pumpkin growers simply assume you mean “how do I get this thing out of my garden?” (The answer involves a fork lift, by the way.) What happens after that is not nearly as important. Unless you’re my husband. But satisfied that we could feed it to the local bears, he agreed I could try this craziness.

Turns out these things are pedigreed. Check it out:

Pumpkin Pedigree

That’s the seed packet. These seeds come from a 798-pound pumpkin grown by someone named Biga in 2006. THAT pumpkin’s parents were 500-pound and 820-pound pumpkins grown in 2004 and 2005? I’m a little baffled about that, actually. And how do pumpkins come in male an female? Hm. Apparently I have more to learn about pumpkin breeding.

Mostly, I just want a really giant pumpkin to make my neighbors jealous.

I’m going to plant it tomorrow. I expect there will be updates all summer about this thing’s progress. I’m like the annoying cat lady, but with a pumpkin. 🙂 Speaking of which, “this thing” clearly is not an acceptable reference for my giant pumpkin. It will need a name. Any suggestions?

3 thoughts on “Giant Baby Pumpkin Comes Home

  1. Sweetheart…..are you practicing on a pumpkin before you and Dustin have a baby? Because seriously…..I’ll just fed-ex you Kelsea….=) No seriously…..it’s either that or I’ll list her on Ebay under….scratches and yells!

    Love you both!
    Heather

  2. I can’t wait to follow your giant pumpkin updates. And I think you should name it Niedergeses or something that contains either “nieder” or “geses.” As a whole it means “river dweller” or “bottom sitter.” I don’t know which part means what. But both are pretty awesome if you ask me. 🙂

  3. Impartially, hm? 🙂 I feel pretty settled on Clementine, but I must say, I’m starting to despair that I’ll get any fruit at all, much less a big one! Will try to update later this week.

Leave a Reply

