I Heart Books – REAL Books – Especially MY Books

I’ve read two e-books, both while I was in Belgium and didn’t have access to a well-stocked library of English-language literature. I found the experience rather irritating, but also rather pleasing. It was irritating because I couldn’t curl up with my book in bed or shove it in my purse to take with me, but pleasing because I got to read the full text of a couple books for free free free without having to go anywhere to get them.

But I will never give up the pleasure of reading hard copies of books. There are a lot of things I do read online, and would rather read online than in hard copy. Newspapers, for example. The effort it takes to drag 60 pounds of old newspapers to a recycling center hardly makes being environmentally responsible about reading them worthwhile. USAtoday.com is way easier, AND I don’t have to even shuffle the sports pages off to the side.

But books, ah! books. They make me happy in so many ways. Usually weighing in at less than a pound, they contain hours of portable entertainment, worlds to uncover and characters to love. You can dip in and out of them at your own pace, gobble down everything your favorite author ever wrote or choose just as easily to never, ever read something by a certain author ever again. Books are the ultimate in user-friendly.

I’m an aspiring author. Who isn’t? Well, I guess I AM a writer already, but I aspire to be a published novelist. Since, so far, all my fiction is unoriginal (and some directly ripped off other people’s ideas), I’m going to have to wait awhile before I can get anything into print that will actually earn me some money.

Until then, I can print books myself!

My pretty Zine.
~
Contents.
~
Inside.

Even knowing that no decent publisher would take the stuff in my self-printed books, I am proud of them. This is the first book I’ve printed, a Zine (Fanzine) for my Nerd Club. It is a compilation of stories written by a total of 17 different authors, full of artwork by 5 or 6 different people. I edited, printed, and bound the whole sucker by myself, and by gum if I don’t think it’s the best thing ever.

The satisfaction of holding a bound book in your hands is double when it’s something you helped write yourself.

Leave a Reply

