Weather is Cool

Cooool. Literally.

When I got up this morning, the temperature was in the mid-forties and the sky was clear and sunny. By 9:30, it had dipped below freezing, still sunny. Right now, at just after 5:00, there is a good half-foot of snow on the ground, and it’s still coming down.

I love living in South Dakota.

This state isn’t nearly as brutal, weather-wise, as people seem to think. North Dakota, Minnesota, and all the other states in the easterly direction, can get much worse weather than we do in terms of total snowfall and total very-cold-days. Even Florida has occasional bouts of being worse off than we are. But weather here in the Black Hills is more fun because it is likely to change so very fast. Hence, sun in the morning, snow in the evening.

In fact, Spearfish, SD holds the record for the fastest, vastest temperature change. From the illustrious Wikipedia:

The Black Hills of South Dakota are home to the world’s fastest recorded rise in temperature. On January 22, 1943, at about 7:30am MST, the temperature in Spearfish, SD was -4 °F. The chinook kicked in, and two minutes later the temperature was 45 °F above zero. The 49 degree rise in two minutes set a world record that is still on the books. By 9:00am, the temperature had risen to 54 °F. Suddenly, the chinook died down and the temperature tumbled back to -4 °F. The 58 degree drop took only 27 minutes.

Hehehe. I love that.

Inspired by today’s fun weather, I was toodling around the NOAA site, trying to figure out how much longer the weather would last, and I found the map above. I think it is a very cool map. You can actually SEE the jetstream blowing across the country. In my next life, I think I’ll be a meteorologist – one that never has to be on TV, that is. I did a fake newscast once and seeing myself with a microphone talking to the camera was really painful. But I could be the brains behind the throne.

Leave a Reply

