Reply from Toll Troll HQ!

And surprisingly, the customer service folks are much less troll-like than their booth attendants. I’m pleasantly surprised by the reply (if not horribly impressed by the proofreading skills. Have I mentioned how important I think those are?)

Laura, I would like to apologize for the frustration in trying to find out how to pay the missed toll at the same time I would like to thank you for bringing the issue regarding no information on your ticket to pay the toll.  This is a new system and I have brought this to my managers attention along with supervisors for toll collections so this can be corrected.  Indiana does not send violations for unpaid tolls, some other states including Illinois does.  If you could please send the unpaid toll to

ATTN: Donna Behre
ITR Concession Company
52551 Ash Road
Granger, IN 46530

Also in the future I believe you will have the option to pay online for missed tolls.

Thank You
C. S.
Customer Care Agent

“Mile for Mile we’re here with a smile”

So there we have it, and I am satisfied with that reply. It was a personal reply and sounds like they’ll be trying to correct the confusion. The mild dig at the Illinois system amuses me too, since I took pains to point out how lovely I thought their system was compared to Indiana’s. I suppose it’s only fair that Indiana fires back.

And thus Indiana has redeemed itself in my opinion. I’ll leave that address in tact up there in case anyone else is trying to get this figured out too. Customer Care Agent’s name has been left off to protect the innocent and such.

3 thoughts on “Reply from Toll Troll HQ!

  1. My daughter just got back from Chicago, ILL., how do we find out how much she owes for toll and how do we pay for it? Can she get put in jail and have to pay a huge fine. The roads were so crowded and they did not have any cash. Please let me know as soon as possible.
    Thank you Teresa Shadwick

  2. First, I wouldn’t worry too much about doing jail time for missed tolls. 🙂 I find it amazing, but nearly half of my traffic finds this blog because they are trying to find out how to pay missed tolls, which must mean lots of people do it. Bet there isn’t that much space in the Illinois prisons.

    In the meanwhile, if she doesn’t pay her missed tolls, she may very well get fined. I don’t know how much the fines are, but I wouldn’t want to find out.

    Check out this website:
    http://www.illinoistollway.com/portal/page?_pageid=133,1495438&_dad=portal&_schema=PORTAL

    There is a map of the different tollways there. Your daughter will have to figure out which toll booths she passed, because each one costs a different amount. If she pulled up to a booth even though she didn’t have cash, they should have given her a pink slip with the booth information on it, which will make this easier. Otherwise, you’ll have to look at the maps and see if you can reconstruct her route. Remember that there are also tolls on the exit ramps.

    I suspect that, even if you can’t remember *exactly* which or how many she missed, if you make a good faith effort to figure it out and pay them promptly, you’ll be just fine. They can be paid online here:
    http://www.illinoistollway.com/portal/page?_pageid=133,1407950&_dad=portal&_schema=PORTAL

    Make sure to print a “receipt” after you finish paying. That way, just in case you do receive a fine, you can show that you attempted to pay, and they’ll probably be more forgiving.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

