What Makes Me Happy

A few days ago, I was having a bad day. I was tired, I was grumpy, things weren’t going very smoothly at work. Then I got a forward in my email, and all that changed.

When is the last time you received an email that made you so happy? A forwarded email, no less?

The email in question contained nothing but a link to a YouTube video of a man named Paul Potts auditioning for a television show called Britain’s Got Talent. If you can’t already figure out what that might be about, let’s say that Simon Cowell gets to tell contestants what he thinks of them. Yes, another one of those shows. I’m not a fan of reality TV shows. I’m not a fan of song competitions. I’m definitely not a fan of Simon Cowell. But watch this video. If it doesn’t make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside, I’ll eat my sock.

After watching that video several dozen times, I got to wondering what happened to chubby, adorable Mr. Potts. I went hunting, and I turned up another video of his performance in the show’s Finale. (Hooray! He made it to the finale!) The first video is more satisfying, but you can hear him sing more of the same song (Puccini’s Nessun Dorma) in the finale video:

And finally, I discovered that Paul, looking slightly rumpled even in his tuxedo, managed to win the competition. He took home £100,000 and a record contract. This is all very old news (the TV show aired in the UK back in July), and by now that record is out and he has an official website, fansite, and Wikipedia entry. Ah well. Better late than never.

2 thoughts on “What Makes Me Happy

Leave a Reply

