Smile for the camera. No really, smile.

You can't see me! You can't see me!

Today, one of my co-workers was wandering around the office with a new camera phone, snapping pictures of all of us to input into his list of contacts. He caught one gal by surprise and she promptly threw her arms up over her face and said “oh no you don’t!”

This reminded me of a very good piece of advice I once heard. In this world of having mini-cameras in every piece of technology we own (cell phones, PDAs, MP3 players, eye glasses), I thought maybe this little bit of advice might be of use. I can’t remember where I first heard it – probably Dear Abby or Hints from Heloise. You ready? Here it is:

When someone points a camera at you, smile. Just do it. Whether your hair is a mess or you have spinach in your teeth or you forgot to get dressed this morning, put on your super-star smile and pretend you’ve been waiting your whole life for the opportunity to have this photo taken.

But why? you moan. No one wants to see a picture of me looking like this!

Yes, but if you don’t smile, there will be a lot of pictures of your hands, elbows, and jacket floating around in the world, not to mention those photos of your alarmed face forming the word “Noooooooo!”

 

I was trying to find more pictures of my fingers and elbows, but the other amazing result of trying to hide from the camera is that no one wants to keep pictures like that. Big toothy smiles, on the other hand, are always good for another smile at a later date.

Leave a Reply

