Writing on Writing on Writing

Way to start, with excess prepositions!

But let me explain.

At my place of employment, I am currently participating in a writing class. Everyone involved in the class has been requested to start a blog for the sake of practicing writing. As writing is my hobby, I already get lots of practice, but I am intrigued by the idea of keeping a blog, so here we go.

Where else do I write, you may ask? I write for and moderate an online fiction club. I feel dorky to admit that it is Fanfiction, devoted to Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern series, but it keeps me out of trouble and I hear lots of legitimate writers got their starts doing this sort of thing. Besides, it’s a lot of fun.

I thought I would dedicate my blog to the strange and unusual happenings and philosophies that come with such a hobby. There are approximately forty members at my site, and their writing talent runs the gamut from Professional to Pitiful. We range in age from 50+ to 15, which is the minimum age for membership. We are currently all women, which I may devote a whole separate entry to, a strange phenomena indeed.

I haven’t decided yet whether I’ll name the club (good advertising for new members?) or leave it anonymous (less likely to get in trouble with people I know?) In either case, all people mentioned will stay anonymous. I suspect this will mostly just be entertaining for me (my apologies to my coworkers who may be required to read my insanity), but if anyone else gloms on (a favorite term of one of my writers), welcome!

No offense will intentionally meant by anything I write here.

Leave a Reply

